Love, Above All Else.

I have been hesitant to say anything regarding the election. I have family members, friends, coworkers, and bosses who have (and will continue to) support Donald Trump.

DISCLAIMER: If you continue to read this, you may not like what I have to say. If you do not like what I have to say, I only ask that you do not come at me with hateful words.

I have seen hate spewed across the internet. From BOTH sides. I have seen friendships end as a result of this election. I have seen people say they don’t think it matters and they think it won’t affect them. I have seen ignorance. I have seen people attempt to preach love and unity as if that’s all that matters, in a time of complete confusion. I literally saw someone say, “So what if he’s racist and sexist, isn’t everyone?” NO. I will not allow you to group me in that category.

My message is very simple: To love everyone, especially in a time of need. However, I find myself struggling with the thought of giving appreciation and understanding to people who support a man who is going to radically change my life (as a woman), the LGBT community’s lives, and minority’s lives.

I indeed find myself unable to comprehend what is going on the world today. There are people displaying swastikas on college campuses. There are people being brutally beaten for their support of their President elect. There are people in this country afraid to express their religious views since the election.

“Power is of two kinds. One is obtained by the fear of punishment and the other by acts of love. Power based on love is a thousand times more effective and permanent than the one derived from fear of punishment.”
– Mahatma Gandhi

There is a difference between actively disagreeing and actively being hateful. People, please listen to me – you are not going to change anything by burning a flag. You are not going to change anything by harming others. If there is one thing I have learned in the crazy life I have led up to this point, is you can love others even though you disagree with them. I am just as pissed off as you are. And I am pissed off FOR you. I am fearful for myself and for you. It is time to stand up and let our voices be heard in the most proactive way possible.

Please don’t misconstrue my words to say: “Just peace and love, it’ll be okay.” I am not omniscient. I cannot guarantee that. Although, I wish I could. And I am not saying that action is not necessary or unwarranted.

I understand your anger.
I understand your fear.
I understand your sadness.
I understand. I am with you.

Anyone who knows me knows my political opinions. I don’t know that I would consider myself a hardcore Democrat, but being that I am so liberal I tend to fall into that category. So let me say this: For those of you who are appalled at the actions of others, I can understand that. I do not condone violence and I do not condone their actions of violence to other human beings based on said other person’s opinion. But, I wish I was as naïve as you. I wish I lived in a world where I could ignore the large possibility that people’s lives are going to change drastically. I find hope in the last couple of day’s actions Mr. Trump has taken. I find hope in the fact that most Republicans have not supported him to this point.

But mark my words: If you try to take my rights away, or my friends rights away, as human beings and citizens of what “We the People” believe to be the greatest country in the world, I will fight until I am bloody, blue, and broken.

I am here for everyone. I love everyone. And I promise you, I will not let you stand alone.

 

Leave a Reply

